2019 Future Leaders Academy



The ESDR Academy for Future Leaders in Dermatology has been held annually since 2011 and brings together around 25 of the most promising young skin scientists with established leaders in the field for a 3-day event. Mixing scientific exchange, career advice and mentoring, the Academy provides an essential platform for young, motivated scientists to move forward in their careers. 


The goal of this initiative is to encourage young gifted dermatologists to further pursue their academic careers through guidance and mentoring of established scientists in the field. Besides scientific sessions, there is a strong emphasis on encouraging young people to network and to exchange ideas. The Academy is an excellent opportunity for sponsoring companies to establish strong professional relationships with the next generation of leaders in dermatology.

General Information

The program is primarily open to European residents currently engaged in all areas of skin-related research (MD, PhD, Post-Doc, Resident etc). A limited number of places will be made available for participants residing outside Europe.  Participants should be 40 years old or under by 1 November 2019. Exceptions may be made for career breaks, maternity/paternity leave etc. 

Applications are reviewed on scientific merit by the ESDR Future Leaders Committee.

ESDR covers accommodation costs for all participants and travel costs for ESDR members. If you are not a member you may apply prior to the Academy. Participants must commit to staying for the entire duration of the Academy and should travel alone. All participants give oral presentations of their work and be expected to attend mentoring events. Past participants are not eligble for consideration.

2019 Title: “Inflammation at the gates”
24-26 October 2019, Porto, Portugal
Thursday 24 October 2019  
11.00-12.30 Registration
12.30-13.30 Lunch (seated – mentors/mentees matched)
13.30-14.00 Welcome
Hervé Bachelez (France), Marta Szell (Hungary)
Mentor Presentation: Alain Hovnanian (France) :
Skin barrier defects and inflammation: how to break vicious circles?
14.30-16.00 Oral presentations by mentees / 6 mentees (names and titles TBI)
16.00-16.30 Coffee Break
Mentor Presentation: Liv Eidsmo (Sweden):
The Role of skin resident memory T cells in psoriasis and atopic dermatitis
17.00-17.45 Oral presentations by mentees / 3 mentees (names and titles TBI)
17.45-19.15 Presentations of industry partners (TBI)
Friday 25 October 2019  
Mentor presentation: Darren Ashcroft (United Kingdom) :
Epidemiology of skin diseases: smart data or big data?
Mentor presentation: Sabine Eming (Germany):
The role of inflammation in wound repair and skin carcinogenesis
09.00-10.15 Oral presentations by mentees / 5 mentees (names and titles TBI)
10.15-11.15 Coffee break and Group Photo
Mentor presentation: Michel Gilliet (Switzerland):
Why type I interferon matters at the skin gates?
11.45-12.45 Oral presentations by mentees / 4 mentees (names and titles TBI)
Mentor presentation: Björn Andersson (Sweden):
Lessons from skin microbiome studies
13.15-14.15 Lunch
14.15-15.15 Oral presentations by mentees / 4 mentees (names and titles TBI)
15.15-16.05 JID Editor presentation
16.05-16.30 Coffee break
16.30- Networking
Saturday 26 October 2019  
Mentor presentation: Menno de Rie (The Netherlands):
A personal journey across immunodermatology territories
09.00-09.45 Oral presentations by mentees / 3 mentees (names and titles TBI)
Mentor presentation: Francesca Capon (United Kingdom):
Innate immune genes abnormalities in pustular skin diseases: lessons regarding their role in skin homeostasis
Mentor presentation: Andrea Szegedi (Hungary):
Immunotopographical differences of human skin
10.45-12.05 Break-out Session/ Coffee Break
12.05-12.50 Presentation of Break-out Sessions to Plenum
12.50-13.00 Meeting digest and Outlook Hervé Bachelez (France), Marta Szell (Hungary)
2019 list of mentors in alphabetical order
Björn Andersson, Stockholm (Sweden)
Darren Ashcroft, Manchester (United Kingdom)
Francesca Capon, London (United Kingdom)
Liv Eidsmo, Stockholm (Sweden)
Sabine Eming, Cologne (Germany)
Michel Gilliet, Lausanne (Switzerland
Alain Hovnanian, Paris (France)
Menno de Rie, Amsterdam (The Netherlands)
Andrea Szegedi, Debrecen (Hungary)