LEO Foundation awards

The LEO Foundation Award is presented to a young researcher from Region EMEA whose work represents an extraordinary contribution to dermatological research. The award is worth USD 100,000.

2024 EMEA Region

Applications for the LEO Foundation Award, EMEA Region 2024 will open on 20 February and close 2 April 2024. The award is worth USD 100,000.

The winner will be announced at the ESDR annual meeting from 4-7 September in Lisbon..


The LEO Foundation Award recognizes the outstanding young researchers and scientists from around the world, whose work represent an extraordinary contribution to skin research and have the potential to pave the way for new and improved treatments for skin diseases.

The award was born out of the Foundation’s aim of advancing the understanding and treatment of skin diseases and strengthening the pipeline of excellent dermatology researchers. It recognizes promising young talents and hopefully provides a boost to their future careers.

Three awards are made each year, one in each of the regions: Americas, EMEA (Europe, Middle East, Africa) and Asia-Pacific. Each award is worth USD 100,000.

The winner of the award in region EMEA will be announced on during the annual ESDR meeting in September.



  • You are resident in an EMEA (Europe/Middle East/Africa) country
  • You have conducted a research on which the application is based and have your primary workplace within the relevant region at the time of being selected as awardee
  • You are between 30 and 40 years of age at the time of being selected as awardee. Natural and reasonable career breaks such as paternity/maternity leave, military service or the like may be deducted
  • You can demonstrate scientific merits in the form of at least 5 peer-reviewed first author or co-first author publications within skin-related research
  • You are an active scientist within skin-related research
  • You agree to become a member of the ‘LEO Foundation Alumni Club’ with accompanying obligations, if selected as awardee

How to apply

 More information on the LEO Foundation website.

Applications will be reviewed by an international review panel. All panel members have been appointed by their respective society in region Americas, EMEA and Asia-Pacific. The LEO Foundation will ensure an independent and unbiased evaluation process in which all applications will be evaluated based on the same criteria and towards the same scientific level.


  • 20 February – 2 April 2024 – Region EMEA


  • $100,000 – Region EMEA

LEO Foundation  AWARDEES

The LEO Foundation Awards constitute a global recognition and are given annually to outstanding young scientists whose work represent extraordinary contributions to dermatology research. Three awards are given annually, one in each of the Americas, EMEA (Europe/Middle East/Africa) and Asia-Pacific regions.

The successful EMEA applicant will receive his/her award during the ESDR Annual Meeting.



Region EMEA
Lavinia Paternoster (UK)


Region EMEA
Esther Hoste (Belgium)


Region EMEA
Beate Lichtenberger (Austria)


Region EMEA
Ning Xu Landén (Sweden)


Region EMEA
Dr. Shoba Amarnath (UK)


Gold Prize Winner
Hayato Takahashi (Japan)

Silver Prize Winner
Tiffany Scharschmidt (USA)


Gold Prize Winner
Maria Kasper (Sweden)

Silver Prize Winner
Christoph Schlapbach (Switzerland)


Gold Prize Winner
Amaya Virós (UK)

Silver Prize Winner
Thomas Wiesner (Austria)


Gold Prize Winner
Nicola Segata (Italy)

Silver Prize Winner
Kilian Eyerich (Germany)


Gold Prize Winner
Kim B. Jensen (Denmark)

Silver Prize Winner
Christina Zielinski (Germany)


Gold Prize Winner
Onur Boyman (Switzerland)

Silver Prize Winner
Muzlifah Haniffa (UK)

For more information and application forms, please visit the LEO Foundation Awards page.